Photo of Nesaquake School

479 Edgewood Avenue, Saint James, NY 11780

Main Office: (631) 382-5105
Health Office:
(631) 382-5115
Counseling Center:
(631) 382-5130
Principal - Mr. McCabe:
(631) 382-5105
Assistant Principal - Mr. Solomon:
(631) 382-5120
Counselor - Jennifer Harnett 6th-7th grade: A-H
8th grade: A-G

(631) 382-5133
Counselor - Jennifer McGlone 6th grade: I-MA
7th grade: I-MO
8th grade: H-MC
(631) 382-5138
Counselor - Melissa Johnson
6th grade: MB-Z
7th grade: MP-Z
8th grade: MD-Z
(631) 382-5136

Psychologist - Christian Forie: (631) 382-5137
Social Worker - Frank Grieco:
(631) 382-5134
Speech - Bonna Gittleman:
(631) 382-5132

NEW! Moving Up Memo

NEW! 2022 Nesaquake Final Exam Schedule

NEW! 2022 Nesaquake Transportation Schedule For Testing


The USDA has extended the free breakfast and free lunch offerings for all school districts participating in the National School Lunch Program through June 2022. Therefore, all students remain eligible for breakfast and lunch at no cost for the entire 2021-2022 school year. Please note that a' la carte items are not considered "meals" and do not qualify as free, but are still available for purchase. THESE ITEMS INCLUDE INDIVIDUAL CARTONS OF MILK, INDIVIDUAL JUICE, BEVERAGES, SNACKS, INDIVIDUAL FRUIT. For additional information, please contact Child Nutrition at 631-382-5000.


Naomi and principal and teacher posing  thumbnail218962
Congrats To Naomi!

Nesaquake seventh grader Naomi Sanabia was awarded a Long Island String Festival Association Private Study Grant. Naomi, who has been playing violin since she was 4, is a New York State School Music Association (NYSSMA) Level 5 violinist. She is also a NYSSMA Level 4 guitar player and is in the Suffolk County Music Educators’ Association All-County orchestra.

Naomi was joined for a picture by Nesaquake Middle School Principal McCabe and Music Instructional Specialist Mrs. McNeil.

Date Added: 6/15/2022


You're Distinguished Banner  thumbnail217610
Smithtown SD honored

Project Lead The Way has recognized all of Smithtown Central School District’s elementary and middle schools as 2021-22 PLTW Distinguished Schools!

For the fourth consecutive year, all seven of our elementary schools have been designated as Distinguished Launch Schools based on our PLTW Launch program in the 2019-2020 school year. The Smithtown Central School District elementary schools represent seven of only 11 in New York to be recognized. Across the United States only 374 schools have received this distinction for 2020-2021.

For the third consecutive year, all three of our middle schools have been designated as Distinguished Gateway Schools based on our Gateway program in the 2019-2020 school year. Our middle schools represent three of only four in New York to be recognized. Across the entire United States only 158 schools have received this distinction for 2020-2021.  

Smithtown School District superintendent Mark Secaur says, "I’m very proud to hear that all 10 of our Elementary & Middle Schools were named Distinguished Schools by Project Lead the Way! Allowing ALL students access to engage in this program paved the way for this great honor!”

Date Added: 5/23/2022



Fourth precinct officers O’Haire and McQuade stopped by Nesaquake Middle School Friday to chat with Principal Dan McCabe and Assistant Principal Derek Soloman.

Nesaquake Middle School has participated all week in police appreciation week by hosting a Blue-Out, providing lunch for police officers and putting up a sign in front of the school to show the community the appreciation Nesaquake has for police officers.

Date Added: 5/20/2022

2022 Retirees, Newly Tenured Staff Recognized at Reception and Board Meeting

Retirees attending Tuesday's Board of Education meeting are recognized. thumbnail216024
Retirees attending Tuesday's Board of Education meeting are recognized.

The Smithtown Central School District celebrated its newly tenured staff and this academic year’s retirees on Tuesday night.

Prior to the Board of Education meeting during which formal approval took place, the honorees gathered in the multipurpose room at the District’s New York Ave. offices to celebrate.

The 25 newly approved tenure recipients: Catherine Abbott, Dara Brachfeld, Samantha Buttice, Kristin Campisi, Jessica Castoro, Mark Cimino, Lindsay Clifford, Kevin Colon, Julianne DeSilva, Christopher Elsesser, Erika Farruggio, Jennifer Fazzio, Eileen Flynn, Jacqueline Harden, Nicole Kerins, Joseph McFadden, Jennifer McGlone, Louis Mincieli, Melissa Minerva, Shannon Moore, Alyssa Patrissi, Maaria Syska, Taylor Walsh, William Weinstein and Renee Weltsch.

And the 35 retiring staff members: Donna Atkinson, Lynne Barry, James Berger, David Bestenheider, Debra Calabza, Vincent Campagna, Kathy Coffin, Olga Crnosija, Claudine DeCoteau, Eileen DiCristofaro, Doreen Downes, Tina Dray, Regina Dunne, Allison Edwards, Diana Feirstein, Cheryl Glick, Mary Pat Grafstein, Jane Groneman, Peggy Knudsen, Virginia Kohilakis, Mary Grace Lynch, Marlene Mitchell, Lisa Molano, Alexis Nagowski, Sharon Nilson, Cindy Nocero, Laura Persichilli, Patricia Petrucelli, Teresa Russo, Patrick Smith, Donald Wallace, Beth Woods, Jeff Woodward, Linda Wurtz and Barbara Zemcik.

The retirees were each individually honored at the Board of Education meeting.

Date Added: 4/12/2022

Nesaquake Eighth Graders Moved by 'From the Fires: Voices of the Holocaust'

Actors during performance wearing striped prisoner uniforms, surrounding liberator. thumbnail215987

Nesaquake Middle School eighth graders watched a powerful play on Tuesday morning in the school’s auditorium.

Port Jefferson-based Theatre Three presented “From the Fires: Voices of the Holocaust.”

The play traces the life of Rachel Gold, a Berlin teenager, and her experiences from 1937 through 1945, as the Nazis rose to power.

The play follows Gold from the inception of the Nuremberg Laws through deportation to Auschwitz and finally the death march to Mauthausen.

The students recently had heard in the same auditorium from 94-year-old Holocaust survivor Werner Reich.

Date Added: 4/12/2022