Skip to Content
Smithtown Central School District
Smithtown Central
School District

District Alert

Main Content

Equation Excellence!

September 21, 2023

What do you get when you add a team of math stars with a desire to help others?
An award winning math society!

Congratulations to the High School East Math Honor Society and the advisors, Marianne Schoepflin and Angela Boccio-McComb, on winning the 2023 Diane Rubin Service Award from Mu Alpha Theta!


The Rubin Award is presented to the Mu Alpha Theta chapter, which has a history of outstanding mathematics service to its community for at least two years. This service must promote interest in mathematics and benefit a group other than its own chapter.
The High School East Math Honor Society has given back to the SCSD with events like Math Fun night, Bingo night, and tutoring for middle school students as well as fundraising events.  

Along with a forthcoming plaque, H.S. East was awarded a $5000 grant!

The SCSD is very proud of your efforts and success!   


2023-2024 officers:
Co-Presidents:  Emma Rose and Aidan Quinn

Steam Coordinator: Lexi McComb

Tutoring Coordinators: Rishabh Dholakia & Charlene Chen

Secretary of Attendance: Giovanni Bertone

Secretary of Outreach: Michael Giamalvo,

Treasurer: Riley McHale

Fundraising Coordinator:  Sanjivani Singh

Advisors: Marianne Schoepflin and Angela Boccio-McComb

Math Director: Angelica Babino 

H.S. East Math Honor Society picture with Principal Robert Rose