Skip to Content
Smithtown Central School District
Smithtown Central
School District

District Alert

Main Content

2023 Torch Award recipients

May 23, 2023

The Smithtown Central School District has named its 2023 Torch Award recipients!

The Torch Award is presented to Smithtown teachers who have significantly contributed to the growth and professional development of their teacher colleagues. The teachers gathered Tuesday at St. James Elementary School for an awards presentation led by St. James Elementary teacher Jennifer Goldman.

Superintendent Dr. Mark Secaur, along with Assistant Superintendents Paul Strader, Neil Katz and various school principals were also on hand to congratulate the recipients. 

The 2023 Torch Award recipients are:

Monique Barricelli (High School West), Keri Batterberry (Tackan Elementary), Brian Cusati (St. James Elementary), Rachel Delaney (Great Hollow Middle School), Nicholas Gallucci (High School East), Meredith LaParle (Accompsett Middle School & Tackan Elementary), Nancy Stewart (High School West), Samantha Specht (High School East & Great Hollow Middle School), Jennifer Trovato (Mt. Pleasant Elementary) and Tracy Rasmussen (Mt. Pleasant Elementary)


Torch Award recipients and Dr. Secaur

crowd shot

Speaker presenting

Torch Award plaques

Torch Award sign