HSW Pic 1100 Central Road, Smithtown, NY 11787


Main Office: (631) 382-2905
Health Office: (631) 382-2925
Attendance Office: (631) 382-2915
Counseling Center: (631) 382-3020
Principal - Mr. Coady: (631) 382-2905
Assistant Principal - Mr. Elsesser: 
Dignity Act Coordinator (DAC)
(631) 382-2905
Assistant Principal - Dr. Freiberg:
Dignity Act Coordinator (DAC)
(631) 382-2970
Assistant Principal - Mr. Solomon:
Dignity Act Coordinator (DAC)
(631) 382-2940
School Psychologist - Danielle DeMola:
Dignity Act Coordinator (DAC)
School Social Worker - Stephanie McKinney:
Dignity Act Coordinator (DAC)


HSW COVID-19 Community Resources

HSW Weekly Wellness Bulletin

Student Links

Parent/Guardian Links


Are You Receiving Our Paperless Communications? 


From the Desk of the Principal


Important Announcements Regarding Upcoming Events & Activities:


Driver Education


Resources for Students, Parents & Guardians:

Student-Artists Take Home Scholastic Honors

Student-Artists Take Home Scholastic Honors  thumbnail167851
Student-Artists Take Home Scholastic Honors  thumbnail167852
Seven student-artists from High Schools East and West have been recognized in the annual Scholastic Art and Writing Awards.

Five students in Timothy Needles’ AP art and digital class at High School East won 10 awards, including an American Visions nomination (Best of Show) along with three gold key winners, which will advance to nationals. They are: Ashleigh Golden (Gold Key in video game design); Kiersten Hebron (Gold Key and Silver Key in photography); Trisan Davis (Gold Key and American Visions nominee in video game design); Nethmi Withanage (Two Silver Keys and two honorable mentions in drawing  and illustration and painting); and Krishna Palempalli (Honorable mention in video game design). 
From Steve Halem’s art class at High School West, Rebecca Lee won the Silver Key for mixed media, Silver Key for drawing and honorable mention for mixed media. In addition, Lily Seeley won a Silver Key in drawing.

FAST Students Create Mural at HSW

1 thumbnail165494
2 thumbnail165495
3 thumbnail165496
4 thumbnail165497
5 thumbnail165498
6 thumbnail165499
The Function Academic Secondary Transition (FAST) students at High School West are hard at work creating a mural outside their classroom. During a two-week period, the students worked alongside art teacher Christopher Lauto and took turns painting different areas of the wall. 

Student-Athletes Sign Letters of Intent

1 thumbnail165261
2 thumbnail165262

Twenty-two student athletes from the district put pen to paper as they signed national letters of intent to continue to play their sports at the collegiate level next year.

The district congratulates the following students from High School West: Hayley Beutel, diving, Townson College; Chad Cusumano, boys lacrosse, University of Tampa; Michael Danzi, cross-country, Columbia University; Reed Greco, boys lacrosse, Robert Morris University; Isabella Justino, girls soccer, Pace University; Emily Leverich, girls soccer, Southern New Hampshire University; Nicholle Marshall, girls lacrosse, James Madison University; Jill Meaney, girls soccer, LIU Post; Maria Paredes, softball, Saint Peters University; Kirsten Rafferty, field hockey, Belmont Abbey College; and Michael Simone, boys lacrosse, Florida Southern College.

From High School East, the following students signed letters: Chris Arceri, boys lacrosse, University of Penn; Justin Carroll, boys lacrosse, Yale University; Nick Dagnello, baseball, College of Charleston; Mia DeNicola, women’s lacrosse, SUNY Binghamton; Julia Fabiano, women’s lacrosse, Wagner College; Jessica Gengler, women’s soccer, Winthrop University; Emily Ginty, track, LIU Post; Marisa Lee, swimming, SUNY Binghamton; Kevin Melore, football, LIU Post; Eric Nicholson, boys lacrosse, University of Hartford; and Dean Schaffer, football, Yale University.

Kickline Scholarship Honors Student’s Memory

kickline thumbnail162581
kickline thumbnail162582
The district community came together for an annual dance/kickline competition to honor former High School West Whisperette alumna Stephanie Belli, who lost her life in a car crash in 2015. To keep her memory alive, a scholarship fund has been set up in her honor. This year’s dance festival brought together more than 40 teams from the tri-state area. The winners of this year’s scholarships are Meghan Deery from High School West and Jillian Catalano from High School East.