Ten Smithtown CSD DECA Students Invited to Atlanta for International Competition

Photo of honored students. thumbnail214443

High School East and West came together to celebrate the success of their School of Business students on Friday.

Inside the Little Theater at East, the group learned that the district had 82 students qualify for the state DECA competition.

The two high schools combined to receive 104 medals and trophies from the regional competition.

Ten students qualified to attend the International Career Conference, which will be held in person in Atlanta. That event will allow students to compete against top winners from across the globe. Those national finalists are Michael Fallon, Antonio Sabatino, Juliana Nestor and Alison Tawil from East and Katie Magee, Abby Portela, Sean Carroll, Hatim Husainy, Matthew Braun and Julianna Reuter from West.

“This year has been about overcoming obstacles and providing engaging activities for our students to excel in the School of Business and showcase their talents and hard work,” career and technical education director Christine LoFrese said. “We worked with the students outside of the classroom to provide them with the opportunity to engage in DECA competitions as we had done in the past.”

DECA is a co-curricular club in the School of Business. It affords students the opportunity to participate in regional, state and national competitions in areas of marketing, finance, accounting, entrepreneurship and community service.

Students learn oral and written communication skills as well as how to work effectively in teams.

The students also participate in multiple community service projects with local organizations throughout the year.  

More than 2,000 students from across the state competed in topics including marketing, finance, public relations, accounting and entrepreneurship. Students competed in either tests and role plays or via written manuals and presentations. 

In addition to district students placing in their various competitions, both high schools also were awarded chapter recognition. East received its recognition for its Community Service Promotion Campaign and Advocacy Campaign. West received its recognition for its Community Service Campaign, Promotional Campaign and Membership Campaign.

The 2021 New York DECA Honor Society selections are Lilly Chai, Alexis Milburn and Megan Reilly from East and Madison Hilman, Hannah Maracina, Katie Magee, Josie Muratore, Frank Paccione, Abby Portela and Meghan Theofield from West.

Date Added: 3/11/2022