Smithtown Central School District 26 New York Avenue, Smithtown, New York 11787

Mark Secaur, Ed.D. Superintendent of Schools (631) 382-2006

October 15, 2024

Dear Accompsett, Great Hollow and Nesaguake Middle School Communities,

We hope that your children have settled nicely into the school year. As we shared with you in September, our middle schools will be phone free spaces this year. To achieve this goal, we will be implementing the Yondr Program beginning on Tuesday, October 22. The Yondr Program utilizes a simple, secure pouch that stores a phone. Every student will secure their phone in a personally assigned Yondr pouch when they arrive at school. Students will maintain possession of their phones and will not use them until their pouches are opened at the end of the school day.

In addition to the letter sent to you on September 5 that outlined our rationale for this approach, we also made a presentation at the September 10 Board of Education Meeting. The presentation slides can be found **HERE** and the presentation itself **HERE**. Anticipating that there would be questions related to this initiative, we created a FAQ document that has been updated since the original letter. Should you have additional questions, please feel free to contact your child's principal. You can also visit the Yondr website **HERE** for more detailed information. We know that several parents expressed concerns related to the impact this decision will have on their child's security and safety, and in addition to what we have shared at the presentation and via the FAQ document, we would like to share another resource **HERE**.

On Monday, October 21, we will be holding grade-level assemblies to discuss expectations and review the daily routine in detail. On Tuesday, October 22 we will distribute the pouches to the students.

We thank you for your anticipated support of this important initiative.

Sincerely,

Mark Secaur, Ed.D. Superintendent

Tark Sum

Paul McNeil **Principal**

Paul McNeil

Accompsett MS

John Scomillio **Principal**

Il Bill.

Great Hollow MS

Dan McCabe **Principal**

Danie Milhe

Nesaquake MS