Smithtown Boasts 17 Commended Students

Smithtown Boasts 17 Commended Students photo
Smithtown Boasts 17 Commended Students photo 2
Seventeen students from High School East and High School West have been recognized as Commended Students in the 2019 National Merit Scholarship Program.

From High School East, the following students were honored:  
Jordyn Christophides, Sandeepna Eranki, Brianna Foster, Ryland Douglas, Alexa Hickey, Thomas Fanning and Alexis McCauley-Pearl. From High School West, the following students were recognized: Michael Alessio, Gretchen Burmeister, David Cabello, Anthony De Mayo, Rebecca Farrell, Nicholas Muellers, Jaden O’Brien, James Rogers, Dante Sasso and Matthew Schuchman.

About 34,000 Commended Students throughout the nation are recognized for their exceptional academic promise. Although they will not continue in the 2019 competition for National Merit Scholarship awards, Commended Students placed among the top 50,000 scorers of more than 1.6 million students who entered the 2019 competition by taking the 2017 Preliminary SAT/National Merit Scholarship Qualifying Test.