Eight Named National Merit Winners

Eight Named National Merit Winners photo
Eight seniors from Smithtown Central School District were among 16,000 students across the county who were named semifinalists in the 64th annual National Merit Scholarship Program. 

From High School East, the receipients are: Rileigh Dowling, Justin McArdle, Matthew Mullahy, Dylan Ross and Ian Winkeler. From High School West, the semifinalists are Catherine Eng, Emily Eng and Michael Fischetti. 

To be considered for a Merit Scholarship award, semifinalists must fulfill several requirements to advance to the finalist level of the competition. National Merit finalists will be announced in February. These winners will then have the opportunity to compete for 7,500 National Merit Scholarships worth more than $31 million, which will be announced in the spring.