Board Recognizes NMS Semifinalists

The Board of Education, along with district administrators, recognized the 11 National Merit Scholarship Program semifinalists from High Schools East and West at the Sept. 27 board meeting.

Each student was presented with a certificate of recognition by Superintendent Dr. James Grossane, board president Christopher Alcure and board trustee Grace Plourde. West semifinalists include: Samantha Catalano, Stephen Kyranakis, Victoria Savage, Adam Wang, Catherine Whang and Cory Zhou. East semifinalists include: Sanjana Eranki, Emily Knott, Carley Rowe, Natalie Swiacki and Ruisi Zhong.

These high school seniors will move on through the competition to potentially earn 7,500 National Merit Scholarships worth about $33 million, which will be handed out this spring.