Nesaquake Students Score Science Olympiad Medals

Nesaquake participated in the regional Science Olympiad competition at Candlewood Middle School in Dix Hills on Feb. 27.

Alexis Yang and Caitlin Leodis (Reach for the Stars); Brendan Dervan and Christopher Dervan (Optics); and Payton Hammond and Jamie Suesser (Bridge Building) all earned medals for their efforts.

Coached by Rob Warner, Matt Naeher, Jessica D’Angelo and Chuck Dennis, Nesaquake’s two Science Olympiad teams had been preparing for their events since October. 

Science Olympiads provide rigorous, standards-based challenges to 7,400 teams in 50 states. Science Olympiad’s lineup of events in all STEM disciplines exposes students to practicing scientists and career choices.