Smithtown Schools Surprises SCOPE Honorees

Smithtown Schools Surprises SCOPE Honorees  thumbnail162513

Honoring the hard work and dedication of Smithtown teachers, staff and community members, Smithtown Central School District’s interim Superintendent of Schools Russell Stewart decided to surprise this year’s honorees of the 2020 SCOPE School District awards during a visit to announce their award on Jan. 31. 

This year’s honorees were surprised with flowers and a brief description of why they were chosen during the visit. SCOPE will formally recognize each of the honorees during the annual dinner celebration on March 23. 

The district congratulates the following 2020 SCOPE award winners: Christine Fitzgerald of the Smithtown Children’s Foundation; Jane Groneman, secretary at St. James Elementary School; Dr. Allyn Leeds, principal at Tackan Elementary School; Michael Saidens, vice president of the Smithtown Board of Education; and Karen Van Dover, sixth grade teacher at Nesaquake Middle School.